A Night Out in East Downtown Houston

Houston grows more and more every day. I saw this growth once again when I walked up to Warehouse Live this past Friday night for the first time in years. New bars and huge crowds of people made the block look entirely different from what I last remembered. I almost felt like I was discovering a whole new world. What didn’t change though was Houstonians enthusiasm for live music.

Beats Antique was the main act, one I’ve wanted to see for years but never had a chance to until now. Once I entered the venue, I was immediately met by the large crowd dancing to the opener’s performance. I felt like I was 19 again. Being back in this venue brought back memories from so long ago.

The room was full of energy and people from all walks of life. The crowd was completely involved in the show and there was a definite less use of devices (possibly due to the band’s suggestion to detach yourself from social media during the concert). All in all, the ecstasy in the room was visible and its waves uplifted me.

The band and dancing group put much effort into the show, creating a theme of a “creature carnival” with theatrical performances and wonderful costumes, making the show much more grand and hypnotic. A strong connection was made between the audience and the show that the crowd relentlessly chanted “encore” and “beats antique” for a good three minutes straight when it ended. The chant was in perfect unison and echoed throughout the venue until the crowd cheered as the band and performers stepped back on stage for another twenty minutes.

From all the concerts I have gone to in the past eight years, seeing such an energetic audience and performance brought so much inspiration and thought. Houston is a great city of growth, diversity and high energy. There is a huge audience in this large city that thrives off of good music that connects us all. As I closed my eyes and danced to the music I felt lost yet found. In control and out control. But one thing was certain. This city has potential and one day we’ll be found.

Leave a comment